echocard vs Popl (2026): the customer's Wallet or the owner's phone
Popl is the right tool for a sales team working a conference floor. echocard is the right tool for a plumber, cleaner or electrician who wants the customer to keep the card and come back.
Published 20 October 2026 · Prices and quotes checked 20 October 2026

Popl describes itself as an AI platform for in-person events: scan a conference badge, enrich the lead, sync it to Salesforce. The digital business card is one product line underneath that, and it lives on the owner's phone, as a page the owner shares by QR code, link or NFC tag.
echocard is a business card that lives on the customer's phone. The customer scans a code or taps a link, presses Add, and the card sits in their Apple Wallet or Google Wallet with call, book, Google review and save contact on the back. On Pro, the card sends a thank you the next day and a reminder a month on, as lock screen notifications.
Here is how the two compare across seventeen things a local business would ask about, with Popl's prices as listed in the App Store on 20 October 2026.
Feature comparison
Popl's app is rated 4.8 from 103K ratings on the App Store and 4.8 from 18.1K reviews on Google Play. The column on the right is what Popl's own pages and listings say it does; where a page did not say, the cell says so.
| Feature | echocard | Popl |
|---|---|---|
| Where the card livesThe one difference that decides the rest | echocard In the customer's Apple Wallet or Google Wallet, next to their bank cards | Popl On the owner's phone and a web page. The customer gets a link or a saved contact, not a card they keep |
| The customer needs no appAnd neither does the owner | echocard Scan or tap, press Add. Wallet is already on the phone, and you build the card in a browser | Popl Yes to view the card: links open in a browser. The owner uses the Popl app |
| Apple Wallet and Google Wallet passesWhose Wallet, and what the pass does | echocard The customer's copy is a pass in their Wallet, with call, book, review and save contact on the back | Popl The owner's own QR code as a pass in the owner's Wallet, for showing to people. Nothing goes into the customer's Wallet |
| QR code and link sharingOn the van, on the invoice, in a text | echocard A QR code and a link on every card, free, plus a card page for desktop | Popl QR code, link, email signature, widgets, Apple Watch |
| NFC hardware neededA tag or card you have to buy and carry | echocard No. Nothing to buy, nothing to tap, nothing to lose | Popl Not needed, but it is Popl's thing: NFC cards and tags are sold as an option |
| Follow-up messages to the customerAfter they have your card, without you doing anything | echocard Pro. A thank you the next day and a reminder a month on, as lock screen notifications from your card | Popl An automatic email to a lead who filled in your form or was scanned. Nothing to someone who only saved the card. Custom wording needs Pro or Pro+ |
| Google review button on the cardOne tap to the review box | echocard On the back of every card, free, beside call, book and save contact | Popl A link you add yourself among the card's links. Not a dedicated button |
| Update the card after it has been sharedNew number, new hours, new logo | echocard Change it once and every saved card updates on its own | Popl Edit once and the links and QR codes show the new details on the next scan |
| A message to every phone that has the cardHoliday hours, a new service, a thank you | echocard Pro. One update, sent once, to every phone that has your card, one a week at most | Popl Not stated. There is no channel to a customer's phone after the save |
| Save to Wallet button for your websiteFor the visitor who is not in front of you | echocard Pro. One line of code, a button in your colour, no developer | Popl A QR code image you can put on your site |
| Team cardsCards for staff, managed from one place | echocard No. One business, one owner. Pro adds a personal card beside the company card | Popl Teams plan, quoted by sales: cards for the whole team, templates, SSO |
| Paper card and badge scannerFor collecting other people's details | echocard No. The card is for your customers to keep, not for collecting contacts | Popl The core product: an AI badge scanner and a paper business card scanner |
| CRM integrationsSalesforce, HubSpot and the rest | echocard No. There is no contact list to sync | Popl Salesforce, HubSpot, Marketo, Microsoft Dynamics, Zoho, Monday.com, Slack |
| Numbers you can seeIs it working | echocard Pro. Saves over time and every tap on book, call and review, card by card | Popl Shares, views, clicks and form submissions, by user, team and campaign |
| Free planWhat you get for nothing | echocard One card in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, unlimited saves, QR code, link, card page, updates | Popl There is a free plan. What it includes is not stated on Popl's website; the plan grid is in the app |
| Paid plan priceFor one person | echocard US$9.99 a month, cancel any time | Popl Pro US$7.99 a month or US$76.99 a year; Pro Plus US$14.99 a month or US$144.99 a year, as listed in the App Store |
| Built for local trades and servicesWho the product is for | echocard Yes. A card the customer keeps, so they rebook, call and leave a review | Popl Built for sales and marketing teams at events and conferences |
Pricing comparison
Both sets of prices as shown on 20 October 2026. Popl’s can change; the references at the end say where to check.
| Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| FreeFree for as long as you like | $0 |
|
| ProCancel any time. | US$9.99a month |
|
Nothing to print and no card details to start. Pro runs to the end of the month you paid for when you cancel.
| Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| FreeNamed in Popl's help centre; contents not stated on the website | $0 |
|
| Proor US$76.99 a year | US$7.99a month |
|
| Pro Plusor US$144.99 a year | US$14.99a month |
|
| TeamsRequest pricing from sales | Quoted |
|
Popl's pricing page says plans are customised for each team and quoted in a meeting. The link for individuals opens the app. We have listed only what is public.
Popl's card goes out. echocard's card stays.
A Popl card is a page. When you share it, the other person opens it in their browser, maybe saves your number to their contacts, and closes the tab. A week later your details are one entry among hundreds in their phone book, with nothing that brings them back to you.
An echocard is a pass in the customer's Wallet, the same app that holds their bank cards and boarding passes. It has a front with your name and number, a back with buttons to book, call, leave a Google review and save your contact, and it updates when you change something. The card is still there when the tap drips again next winter.
Popl follows up with leads. echocard follows up with customers.
Popl can send an automatic email after a new connection, and it is a real feature: when someone fills in your form or you scan their badge, both of you get an introductory email, straight away or after a delay. The catch is the word lead. Someone who only looked at your card and saved your number never gave Popl their email, so nothing goes to them.
echocard's follow-ups go to everyone who saved the card, because the pass is the channel. On Pro, a thank you lands on their lock screen the next day and a reminder a month on, from your card, with your logo, between 8am and 7pm in your time zone. Nobody fills in a form, and you do not have to do anything.
Prices you can find versus prices in an app
Popl's pricing page is written for teams and ends in Request Pricing. The link for individuals opens the Popl app. The only public individual prices we could find are the in-app purchases listed on the App Store: Pro at US$7.99 a month and Pro Plus at US$14.99 a month. What the free plan includes is not stated anywhere on popl.co, and reviewers on both app stores describe hitting a paywall early.
echocard has two plans and both are on the home page. Free is one card, in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, with the QR code, link and card page, kept up to date on every phone that has it. Pro is US$9.99 a month and adds the follow-ups, the update messages, the website button, your numbers and extra cards. Cancel from the Account page and Pro runs to the end of the month.
Where Popl is better, plainly
If you work trade shows, Popl is the stronger product and it is not close. It scans conference badges and paper business cards, enriches each lead with verified email and company data, sends the lot to Salesforce, HubSpot or Zoho, and reports which event produced which pipeline. It sells NFC cards and tags for people who like a tap. Teams get templates, SSO and a dedicated manager.
echocard has none of that. There is no scanner, no contact list, no CRM integration, no team dashboard and no NFC hardware. It is built for a business whose customers are people with a leaking tap, not a sales team with a quota.
The owner needs an app, or does not
Popl is an app. You build the card in it, share from it and read the numbers in it, and a few reviewers mention being unable to log in without a connection. echocard is a website: you build the card in a browser in about five minutes, put your own copy in your Wallet by scanning a code, and the card page does the rest. Nothing to install on your phone or the customer's.
What Popl users complain about
These are recent public reviews of Popl, quoted as written, from the App Store, Google Play and Trustpilot. Each one has what echocard does about it, including where echocard has the same limit.
A paywall before you have seen the product
“Don't give me a paywall before showing me what you can do.”
echocard: echocard's free plan is the whole card: QR code, link, card page, the buttons on the back, and updates to every saved copy, for as long as you like. Pro is one price on the home page, and you start free without entering card details.
Paying to see your own connections
“I believe that some should actually come standard (such as seeing all of my connections, not just the last 5).”
echocard: echocard does not collect your customers' details at all, so there is no list to cap. Pro shows you how many phones have your card and what they tapped; Free shows you the card.
Pushing the other person to download the app
“BAD FORM”
echocard: The reviewer objects to the card page nudging the recipient to install Popl before saving the contact. An echocard page has no app to push. The customer presses Add to Apple Wallet or Add to Google Wallet, and that is the whole flow.
Needs a connection to open
“Met a contact on a plane ride and couldn't log into Popl because I didn't have an internet connection.”
echocard: Your own echocard sits in your Wallet, so the QR code on its front shows with no signal and no login. The customer does need a connection to open your card page and save it, the same as with any link.
The follow-up stopped and support said it was gone
“Support = None”
echocard: The reviewer says the AI follow-up stopped working and support told them it had been discontinued. echocard's follow-ups are two plain messages you can read in the Messages page before they go, and they are the reason Pro exists, not a side feature.
Bottom line
Popl is a lead capture platform for teams at events, with a card attached and prices quoted by sales. echocard is a card for the customer's Wallet, free to start, with a Google review button on the back and follow-ups on the lock screen for US$9.99 a month. If your customers are leads at a conference, choose Popl. If they are households and businesses who will need you again, choose echocard.
References
- Popl pricing page (teams, request pricing) (checked 20 October 2026)
- Popl: AI Lead Capture on the App Store (ratings, in-app purchase prices) (checked 20 October 2026)
- Popl: AI Lead Capture on Google Play (ratings, description, reviews) (checked 20 October 2026)
- Popl help centre: add your QR code to your Apple or Google Wallet (checked 20 October 2026)
- Popl help centre: follow up email (checked 20 October 2026)
- Popl digital business cards summary for AI agents (checked 20 October 2026)
- Popl on Trustpilot (checked 20 October 2026)
Frequently asked questions
Is there a Popl alternative for a small local business?
Yes. echocard is a digital business card made for local trades and service businesses. The card goes into the customer's Apple Wallet or Google Wallet, with call, book, Google review and save contact on the back, and Pro follows up on their lock screen. It is free to start and needs no app or NFC hardware.
Does Popl put the card in the customer's Wallet?
No. Popl's help centre describes adding your own QR code to your own Apple Wallet or Google Wallet so you can show it to people. The person who scans it opens your card page in a browser. echocard does the reverse: the customer adds your card to their Wallet.
How much does Popl cost for one person?
Popl's website does not publish individual prices. The App Store lists Popl Pro at US$7.99 a month or US$76.99 a year and Popl Pro Plus at US$14.99 a month or US$144.99 a year, as of 20 October 2026. Teams are quoted by sales.
Does Popl send follow-up messages?
Popl can send an automatic email to a lead after a connection, meaning someone who filled in your form or whose badge you scanned. It does not message someone who only saved your card. echocard Pro sends a thank you and a reminder to every phone that has the card, as lock screen notifications.